Ofsted reflections…

A few notes:

1. Most people didn’t get a lesson grade or any discussion around numbers at all. However, a couple did, and others got ‘I’ve said the word xxxx a lot so draw your own conclusions’. So a little muddled there. Some comments seemed to suggest teaching style.
2. The problem with the ungraded approach is that teachers have no chance to argue back. My feedback was positive, but how do I know she hadn’t given me 4s across the board and was just keeping it to herself??? I have no idea. Which leads on to…
3. Several people mentioned seeing that the inspectors had a list of teachers with grades next to them. So has grading simply gone underground?? Who is seeing these grades?
4. Inspectors made assumptions about what had gone on in lessons prior to their entry, and made their judgements before asking questions to clarify these points. Which is just rude.
5. Teachers still expected lesson grades. No pre-inspection meeting, so no opportunity to clarify.

Conclusions: definite improvements, but this ‘no grades’ malarkey may be more complex than I thought….